Phoenix DUI Laws: What Is The Arizona Alcohol Limit?

DUI laws in Arizona can be challenging to understand. In this state, there are varying levels of DUIs, each with different penalties. At the Younglove Law Firm, our Phoenix DUI attorneys want to give a brief overview of these laws.

Ordinary DUI in Phoenix

A person can be charged with a traditional DUI in Arizona if their blood alcohol content (BAC) level ranges from .08% to .149%. Penalties for a DUI charge in Arizona are as follows:

  • First offense DUI – misdemeanor
    • 24 hours to 10 days in jail
    • 30 to 90 days license suspension
    • Ignition interlock device for one year
    • Court can suspend all but 24 hours jail if alcohol treatment screening completed
  • Second offense DUI within 7 yrs – misdemeanor
    • 10 to 90 days in jail
    • License revoked for one year
    • Ignition interlock device for one year upon license reinstatement
    • Court can suspend all but 30 days in jail if alcohol treatment screening completed

Extreme DUI in Phoenix

Extreme DUI charges can apply if a person has a BAC of .15% to .199%. Penalties for Extreme DUI in Arizona are as follows:

  • First offense Extreme DUI – misdemeanor
    • 30 to 90 days in jail, 30 consecutive days
    • License revoked for one year
    • Ignition interlock device for one year upon license reinstatement
    • Court can suspend all but 30 days jail if alcohol treatment screening completed
  • Second offense Extreme DUI within 7 yrs – misdemeanor
    • 120 days in jail, at least 60 consecutive days
    • License revoked for one year
    • Ignition interlock device for one year upon license reinstatement
    • Required alcohol treatment screening completed

Super Extreme DUI in Phoenix

Super Extreme DUI charges can apply if a person has a BAC of .20% or higher. Penalties for Extreme DUI in Arizona are as follows:

  • First offense Super Extreme DUI – misdemeanor
    • 45 to 90 days in jail, 45 consecutive days
    • License revoked for one year
    • Ignition interlock device for 18 months upon license reinstatement
    • Required alcohol treatment screening completed
  • Second offense Super Extreme DUI within 7 yrs – misdemeanor
    • 180 days in jail, at least 90 consecutive days
    • License revoked for one year
    • Ignition interlock device for two years upon license reinstatement
    • Required alcohol treatment screening completed

Aggravated DUI in Phoenix

There are various aggravated DUI charges that can apply

  • Aggravated DUI, 3rd DUI offense within 7 yrs – Class 4 felony
    • 4 to 45 months in prison
    • License revoked for three years
    • Ignition interlock device for one year upon license reinstatement
    • Required alcohol treatment screening completed
  • Aggravated DUI on license suspended or revoked from prior DUI – Class 4 felony
    • 4 to 45 months in prison
    • License revoked for three years
    • Ignition interlock device for one year upon license reinstatement
    • Required alcohol treatment screening completed
  • Aggravated DUI with a child in the vehicle – Class 6 felony
    • 4 to 45 months in prison
    • License revoked for three years
    • Ignition interlock device for one year upon license reinstatement
    • Required alcohol treatment screening completed

Contact an attorney for help with your case today

If you or somebody you love has been charged with DUI, contact the attorneys at Younglove Law Firm today. Our Phoenix DUI lawyers will thoroughly investigate your case in order to get the charges against you reduced or dismissed. You can contact us for a confidential consultation of your case by clicking here.